Hello from Sonoma County, California

• 25 May 2021
  • 8 replies

Userlevel 4
Badge +1

I’ve been developing websites since 1994 and started a local Web Development business in 1996. Initially, I worked primarily with Perl scripts and hand coding. 

I went all in on Allaire’s Cold Fusion and developed a proprietary CMS in Fusebox for many of our clients. Eventually, we moved on to ExpressionEngine.

Once WordPress and ACF matured, I shifted towards that as an overall solution. Many of the sites I developed worked within the Genesis Framework.

Right now, I’m in the early stages of shifting site development over to Elementor. I am pleased with how the Elementor ecosystem has developed and am looking forward to exploring everything that Elementor can do.

My website is at https://www.blairworks.com/

8 replies

Userlevel 6
Badge +3

Hi @Mark Blair welcome to Elementor Community.
Being you so expert what do you think about professional site developing with a page builder? 
Every time that i discuss about it there are a lot of people that do not like the page builder choice  

Userlevel 4
Badge +1

Hi @Mario Barretta -

I was against page builders for a long time. I feel that the biggest drawback of them is that the resulting code that is output is fairly un-optimized. Although they are more optimized than in the past, they still cannot compete with a site where everything is tailored to fit.

That said, page builders have one big advantage: speed of development. There is an opportunity cost in terms of time and money to hand code everything. They are a good fit for sites that wish to grow rapidly by enabling a cost effective way to add new features, A/B test new layouts, etc.

For sites with a pretty good-sized budget or that are relatively static, they are probably not the best fit.