Solved

Where is the Publish button??

Background…

I am helping a friend with their website that uses WordPress with Elementor. The prior admin (who I assume has Elementor experience) quit the job. I have a lot of experience with “raw“ web development technologies, but not page publishers like Elementor. This makes the work particularly frustrating at the moment since I know exactly what I want to do, but I have to investigate the Elementor incantation that gets me there.

The problem…

I’ve made changes to a page and a green button appears in the lower left corner that says “Update”. I click this button and it seems to save a draft of my changes. I can preview the page and it looks great. All I want to do now is publish it so that it is “live”. But there’s no Publish button. After I did an Update, the button just grays out.

I’ve done some research on this and according to the Elementor site, I should be able to preview my changes and, if I like them, I just click “Publish”. Hm...

How do I publish my changes?

icon

Best answer by Abner Rojas 1 August 2021, 22:44

View original

14 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +4

The update button is the same as publish.  You can also hit the little arrow beside the update button to save as draft.  You can preview changes by hitting the “eye” next to the update button.

The update button is the same as publish.  You can also hit the little arrow beside the update button to save as draft.

Thanks. Yes, I saw the options with the arrow. The problem is that when I Update, the page does not show up on the live site on a client PC or smartphone, even if I clear the browser cache. Is there some other action I need to perform after Update to cause the page to go live? Is there information within Elementor that tells me the last time the page was updated to the live site? I see a published date, but it’s April 2019. Perhaps that’s the date it was first created/published.

Userlevel 7
Badge +4