Solved

Theme updates and Child Theme vs Elementor Canvas in Hello

• 17 November 2021
  • 3 replies

Badge +2

Hello all. This is my first question here.

Firstly I am new to web design although I am a techie. I have spent a fair amount of time playing around with local wordpress websites using various tools and decided to purchase Elementor Pro. I have been watching various YT guides on site design using Elementor free and pro versions.

Two of the guys I have watched a lot of come at design from different angles. One takes a theme and modifies it and makes a huge point of “must” use a child theme to protect theme updates from changing your site design. The other takes the approach of using the Hello theme explaining that basically he is using the Hello theme as a bare bones theme that is designed to work the best with Elementor but then uses the “canvas” option and applies templates etc. I am leaning towards this way of web design.

My question is that if I take the canvas/template approach is there still a risk that a Hello theme update could change anything at some point in the future therefore it would still be best practice to create a child theme?

icon

Best answer by Lee Hooper 25 November 2021, 17:10

View original

3 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +4

@Lee Hooper Can I ask you a question first, will you want to create headers and footers that should display on all or most of your sites pages? If so, then you will not want to use “Canvas” because that template (layout) is made so that it does NOT show any headers and footers (good perhaps for sales pages).