Solved

Menus in Header

Badge

I’m a novice here. Following a tutorial I added a header from the library with a logo anabout 5 different menus on the rh side. I inserted and saved. When I look at the page the header logo is present but there is only one large container with one Nav Menu widget. No words. I cannot see how to add or edit the words. I have created some menus in the Menu editor but they do not appear anywhere. Any pointers to tutorials appreciated or is there a malfunction somewhere. It did work some weeks ago when first I tried it. Thanks

icon

Best answer by Mark Blair 25 July 2021, 23:08

View original

13 replies

Userlevel 4
Badge +1

Try editing that Nav Menu widget that is inside the header you added and then assign your WordPress menu here:

Where it says “Main Menu” in my screenshot is where you would pick the menu that you saved in “Dashboard > Appearance > Menus” (this is also where that blue “Menus screen” goes in my screenshot.

If nothing appears there, then perhaps your WordPress menu didn’t get saved. I sometimes make a bunch of changes to a menu and forget to hit the “Save Menu” button.

Badge

Thanks for that Mark. I have managed to get something showing in the menu bar but not quite what I want yet. I will put more time in at the weekend.

regards,

David

Userlevel 4
Badge +1

Great! Once you have the menu assigned properly, you should be able to manage the menu items from “WordPress Dashboard > Appearance > Menus” and whatever changes you make there should appear on the site, and in Elementor when you are working on the header (or a page that is set to display it) in the editor.

Badge

Hi Mark, No it is still not working. I create a menu, Save it, assign it to the nav menu widget and update but it does not show. I have changed text colour, size  and background to see if it hidden  but nothing shows.