Question

PayPal HTML Widget Code Error

Badge

I have a PayPal subscribe button code I have pasted into an Elementor HTML widget, but it does not show up in preview or on the front-end.

I checked with PayPal customer service, we tested it on a button tester and it works there. So this button code seems to only not work in Elementor. I need to be able to set a time-limit for subscription payments which the Elementor PayPal button widget does not allow for. For example $99 for 10 months then payments stop.

I’ve tried creating a new button code within PayPal, also tried to add the code on another page, didn’t fix it.

When I paste the PayPal HTML code into the Elementor widget it shows: “named entity expected. Got none.” error.

Anyone else having this issue or know how to fix it? Any guidance or insight here is greatly appreciated!

10 replies

Userlevel 3
Badge +1

Can you post a link to the page where this is happening? If you can’t do that, please post the PayPal HTML as well as the source code for the page.

To get the source code, in Chrome, View → Developer → Source Code. Either save the file that’s opened as a text file and attache to your response message or just copy and paste the contents into your response message. 

Badge

This is the page it’s happening on: https://midwiferywisdom.com/retreat/

The PayPal subscribe buttons *should* be showing up at the bottom of the page under the text “Need a payment plan on the Full Midwifery Wisdom Experience? Contact us to set one up!” but before the email signup forms.

Thank you so much for any insight!

Userlevel 3
Badge +1

Ok so for starters, you’ve got some JavaScript errors occurring in what appears to be PayPal code. How did you set up all of the PayPal stuff in your theme? Is there a plugin (maybe a WooCommerce add-on?) that configures everything for accepting PayPal payments?